Veggie Lasagna

I'm not lacking in muscles after rolling out those lasagna sheets.  Wow!  I was seriously considering driving 15 minutes to my moms house to borrow her pasta mill.  IF you have one, you are one lucky duck.  But I do find this homemade pasta 100 times better than any store bought-boil-hard-to-handle-noodle-stuff.  Anywho, if you let these baby's dry out for 30 minutes, they're much easier to handle and don't puff up as much.

I’m not lacking in muscles after rolling out those lasagna sheets. Wow! I was seriously considering driving 15 minutes to my moms house to borrow her pasta mill. IF you have one, you are one lucky duck. But I do find this homemade pasta 100 times better than any store bought-boil-hard-to-handle-noodle-stuff. Anywho, if you let these baby’s dry out for 30 minutes, they’re much easier to handle and don’t puff up as much.

Gather together everything you'll be wanting in the veggie lasagna.  I steamed my asparagus and spinach.  Soaked my dried mushrooms for the white sauce.  And shredded mozzarella (or buy pre-shredded, which I did so and saved my poor sore arms)

Gather together everything you’ll be wanting in the veggie lasagna. I steamed my asparagus and spinach. Soaked my dried mushrooms for the white sauce. And shredded mozzarella (or buy pre-shredded, which I did so and saved my poor sore arms)

The white sauce is nothing special.  I sauted the mushrooms and onions in butter.  Add some flour and let cook 30 seconds.  Then add your milk.  The ratio is 1 Tbs butter, 1 Tbs flour, 1 cups milk but increase for as much sauce as you think you'll need.  With the pasta being fresh, it doesn't need as much sauce but I do keep the sauce on the runny side.  Don't forget to add salt and pepper!

The white sauce is nothing special. I sauted the mushrooms, garlic and onions in butter. Add some flour and let cook 30 seconds. Then add your milk. The ratio is 1 Tbs butter, 1 Tbs flour, 1 cups milk but increase for as much sauce as you think you’ll need. With the pasta being fresh, it doesn’t need as much sauce but I do keep the sauce on the runny side. Don’t forget to add salt and pepper!  The bowl of brown water is the left over mushroom water (after soaking my dried mushrooms) and I add that at the end to help the sauce be a little more runny.

Last thing to prep is the cottage cheese/parmesan/spinach layer.  About 2 cups cottage cheese, 1 cup parmesan, and 2 cups steamed and chopped spinach.

Last thing to prep is the cottage cheese/parmesan/spinach layer. About 4 cups cottage cheese, 1 cup parmesan, and 2 cups steamed and chopped spinach.

When assembling the lasagna, put a layer of sauce at the bottom of the pan.  Pasta... cottage cheese mix... asparagus... sauce...  mozzarella... pasta... cottage cheese mix... asparagus... sauce... mozzarella.  Keep going 'till it's all gone.
Cut the sheets of pasta to fit the pan and poke with a fork to keep it from puffing up when baking.  When assembling the lasagna, put a layer of sauce at the bottom of the pan. Pasta… cottage cheese mix… asparagus… sauce… mozzarella… pasta… cottage cheese mix… asparagus… sauce… mozzarella. Keep going ’till it’s all gone.

Add a sprinkle of mozzarella on the top.  Stop to gaze...

Add a sprinkle of mozzarella on the top.  And at this point realized I didn’t have enough liquid, so I added a splash of milk.  Stop to gaze…

Bake it up!!  350 for 45 minutes.  Sorry but I forgot to take that classic shot of the lasagna all baked up and pretty... but I'm new at this whole blogging thing.

Bake it up!! 350 for 45 minutes. Sorry, I forgot to take that classic shot of the lasagna all baked up and pretty… but I’m new at this whole blogging thing.

The last few bits of  pasta I shredded up and set out to dry for another day.  They'll be perfect in a chicken soup.
The last few bits of pasta I shredded up and set out to dry for another day. They’ll be perfect in a chicken soup.

Leave a Reply

